LGBT Leadership Award Honorees

Award for Distinguished Academic Achievement (2017) Joseph Pequigney ND ’44 

Joe was a true pioneer in LGBTQ studies.   His study of Shakespeare’s Sonnets, Such is My Love, was the first to present the case that there was a consummated sexual relationship between the poet and his friend.  His exploration of same-sex love themes in Dante’s Divine Comedy has also been very influential and is widely cited.  That themes in our literature of same-sex love are today recognized and taught with greater honesty is a credit to Joe Pequigney.

Professor Pequigney was a contemporary of Tom Dooley, receiving his B.A. from ND in 1944, and a Ph.D from Harvard in 1959.  He is Professor Emeritus of English, State University of NY – Stony Brook where he taught literature for 35 years.  He and photographer Steven Mays have been together for 48 years and were married in 2008.

Distinguished Alumni Award (2015) — Kevin Heffernan

kevin heffernan pic


We honor Kevin Heffernan ND ’93 with the GALA Distinguished Alumni Award for his service as a previous GALA officer and for his dedication and help over the years to Notre Dame LGBT students and alumni.




Lawrence Condren GALA-ND/SMC Distinguished Service Award (2015) – Hank and Nancy Mascotte



We honor Nancy Mascotte, SMC ’64 and Hank Mascotte for their work as founders of the South Bend chapter of Parents, Family, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG).




Distinguished Alumni Award (2013) — John Blandford

BlandfordDr. John Blandford is chief of the Division of Global HIV/AIDS (DGHA) Health Economics, Systems, and Integration Branch (HESIB) in the CDC Center for Global Health (CGH). Since joining the division in 2003, he has established DGHA’s leadership in the use of economic research and financial analyses to support sustainable scale-up and efficient operation of global PEPFAR programs. He directed the PEPFAR ART Costing Project, a multi-country public health evaluation to study the costs and cost drivers of PEPFAR’s treatment programs. He has grown the economics team to support PEPFAR in planning and optimization of resources in global HIV programming and has pioneered routine expenditure analyses to inform program management and efficiency.

For two years, Dr. Blandford was seconded to the Office of the U.S. Global AIDS Coordinator, where he led public health evaluation activities and guided efforts to project resource needs for scale-up of PEPFAR programs. He entered federal service as a postdoctoral Prevention Effectiveness Fellow in CDC’s Division of STD Prevention. Prior to joining CDC, he worked in the philanthropic sector supporting grant review and grant-making operations and as an adjunct instructor of undergraduate and graduate courses in economic theory and public policy. Dr. Blandford received his graduate training in economics at the University of Texas (Austin) and University of Notre Dame, and was a Social Science Research Council postdoctoral fellow at the University of Chicago. He is a past chair and founder of GALA-ND/SMC, and has been a longstanding advocate for LGBT rights at Notre Dame.

PittmanLawrence Condren GALA-ND/SMC Distinguished Service Award (2013) — Catherine Pittman

Dr. Catherine Pittman is a professor of psychology at Saint Mary’s College, where she serves as the faculty advisor for SAGA, the Straight and Gay Alliance. In March of 2012, Dr. Pittman led South Bend Equality to victory when the the South Bend Human Rights Ordinance passed, outlawing discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity, an ongoing battle since the measure was first struck down in 2006.

A practicing psychologist, she is co-author of book on tactics to control anxiety called Extinguishing Anxiety: Whole Brain Strategies to Relieve Fear and Stress. Dr. Pittman has a PhD from Northern Illinois University and a Bachelor of Science from Central Michigan University.

Award for Distinguished Academic Achievement (2013) — Sr. Margaret Farley

FarleyThe recipient of eleven honorary degrees, the John Courtney Murray Award for Excellence in Theology, and a Luce Fellowship in Theology, Professor Farley is a past president of the Society of Christian Ethics and the Catholic Theological Society of America. She has served on the Bioethics Committee of Yale–New Haven Hospital and on the Ethics Committee of the American Society of Reproductive Medicine. Professor Farley directs and co-directs two projects relating to women, theology, and response to HIV/AIDS in Africa.

She has published more than eighty articles and chapters of books on medical ethics, sexual ethics, social ethics, historical theological ethics, ethics and spirituality, and feminist ethics. She is the author or editor of six books, including Personal Commitments: Beginning, Keeping, Changing and most recently Just Love: A Framework for Christian Sexual Ethics. The Vatican denounced Sr. Farley for Just Love in June of 2012, which offers contemporary interpretations of Christian ethics around gender and sexuality, including same-sex relationships and marriages.

Distinguished Alumni Award (2010) — Lt Col Victor J. Fehrenbach

FehrenbachLt Col Victor J. Fehrenbach is a 20-year combat veteran of the United States Air Force. At the time of the award he was assigned as F-15E Weapons Systems Officer and Assistant Director of Operations, 366th Operations Support Squadron, Mountain Home AFB, Idaho and faced involuntary discharge under the U.S. government’s “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy. Fehrenbach successfully retired from the United States Air Force on September, 2011 following the repeal of DADT.

Lt Col Fehrenbach was born at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio, on August 20, 1969. He is the son of USAF Lt Col (Ret) Arthur J. Fehrenbach and Treva L. Fehrenbach. His father was a career navigator and his mother was a nurse in the USAF. He graduated from the University of Notre Dame in 1991 on a USAF ROTC scholarship, earning his commission and Bachelor of Arts Degree in International Relations.

In 20 years, Fehrenbach has been deployed six times in support of seven major combat operations. He flew combat missions over Iraq, Kosovo, former Yugoslavia, USA, and Afghanistan. He accrued 2180 total flying hours, 1487 fighter hours, 500 instructor hours, 400 combat hours, and 88 combat missions. His decorations include the Meritorious Service Medal, nine Air Medals, Aerial Achievement Medal, five Air Force Commendation Medals, Navy Commendation Medal, two Air Force Achievement Medals, two Outstanding Unit Awards with Valor, Kosovo/Afghanistan/Iraq Campaign Medals, and Korea/NATO/Global War on Terrorism Service Medals.

Lawrence Condren GALA-ND/SMC Distinguished Service Award (2010) — Gus Hinojosa

HinojosaThe 2010 Lawrence Condren GALA-ND/SMC Distinguished Service Award honors Gus Hinojosa ’82 for his contributions to the mission and spirit of GALA-ND/SMC, particularly his leadership as Chair of GALA in the early 2000’s, his financial support of the first Queer Film Festival (2004), and his hard work in strengthening GALA, both financially and in terms of membership.

Prior to founding HINOJOSA, Architecture & Interiors in 2009 Gus worked in New York for nineteen years, six years with Skidmore Ownings & Merrill and thirteen years with Gensler. In 2005 he transferred to the Gensler Dallas Office. Early in his career Gus worked for Fisher Heck Lake & Flato and Chumney Urrutia both in San Antonio, Texas. Gus has directed various design for high profile Dallas clients including; The Rosewood Corporation, Mary Kay, Fidelity Investments, Haynes & Boone and Morgan Stanley/Saxon Mortgage.